Sobey Art Foundation to Announce National Short List for 2004 Sobey Art Award on April 1, 2004

Halifax, NS - March 18, 2004 - The five finalists for the $50,000 Sobey Art Award will be announced at a news conference in Halifax at the Art Gallery of Nova Scotia on Thursday April 1, 2004 at 5 p.m. The five finalists will be drawn from a list of 25 Canadian artists. Donald Sobey, Chairman of the Sobey Art Foundation and members of the curatorial advisory panel will be present at the news conference and will be available for interviews.
The shortlist will comprise one artist from each of following five regions:

West Coast/Yukon: John Boehme, Alex Morrison, Marianne Nicolson, Lucy Pullen, Althea Thauberger.
Prairies/North: Paul Butler, Dean Drever, Marcel Dzama, Shelley Ouellet, Taras Polataiko.
Quebec: Nicolas Baier, Jean-Pierre Gauthier, Marc Séguin, Michel De Broin, Massimo Guerrera
Ontario: Germaine Koh, Kelly Mark, Shaan Syed, Jubal Brown, Nestor Kruger
Atlantic Canada: Chris Lloyd, Cal Lane, Greg Forrest, Will Gill, Alexandra Flood

The Sobey Art Award is a biennial award to be given to an artist under 40 who has had a show in a public or commercial art gallery within 18 months of being nominated. A panel of curatorial advisors, one from a major gallery in each of five regions will decide the shortlist: the Atlantic, Quebec, Ontario, Prairies and Western Canada, West Coast. An exhibition at the Art Gallery of Nova Scotia, featuring works by the five artists selected for the Sobey Art Award national short-list, will open on September 17, 2004 and the winner will be announced October 14, 2004.

To arrange an interview with Mr. Donald Sobey and/or members of curatorial advisory panel contact Svava Juliusson at (902) 424 5169.

Information, resources, and registration details:


Information Desk 


© 2014 Art Gallery of Nova Scotia    Privacy Policy