Home > Sobey Art Award > News > Sobey Art Award semi-finalists announced for 2006
Sobey Art Award semi-finalists announced for 2006

Halifax -- For Immediate Release -- November 9th 2005
Sobey Art Award Semi-Finalists Announced for 2006
Sobey Art Foundation, Scotiabank and the Art Gallery of Nova Scotia are pleased to announce the 25 semi-finalists for the Sobey Art Award 2006.  

“It is the Foundation’s hope that the Sobey Art Award will play a role in stimulating interest, discussion and debate regarding contemporary Canadian art, shining a spotlight on the creative minds across this country whose energies and passions are focused on creating that art, while providing support for people who will be known in the years to come as great Canadian artists.” – Donald Sobey,  Chair, Sobey Art Foundation

In 2002, the Sobey Art Foundation created the largest art award for a young Canadian artist. The Sobey Art Award is a biennial prize given to an artist under 40 who has had a show in a public or commercial art gallery 18 months prior to the award. A panel of curatorial advisors, one from a major gallery in each of five regions will decide the winner.  Each advisor was charged with creating a shortlist of five artists from their respective regions. The five panelists will meet as a group during the spring of 2006 and reduce the national long list of 25 artists, to a short list of five. The panel of curatorial advisors will choose the winner.

West Coast:
Geoffrey Farmer
Luanne Martineau
Damian Moppett
Lucy Pullen
Steven Shearer
Curator: Christina Ritchie

Prairies and the North:
David Hoffos
Taras Polataiko
Annie Pootoogook
Jennifer Stillwell
Rachelle Viader Knowles
Curator: Patricia Deadman

Shary Boyle
Janice Kerbel
Will Kwan
Jennifer Murphy
Paul P
Curator: Wayne Baerwaldt

Nicolas Baier
Pascal Grandmaison
Isabelle Hayeur
Emmanuelle Léonard
Curator: Stéphane Aquin

Lucie Chan
Erik Edson
Will Gill
Adriana Kuiper
Mathew Reichertz
Curator: Shauna McCabe

for more information on each artist
click here
See our website:


For more information please contact:
Eleanor King, Sobey Art Award Coordinator
902.424.5169  info@sobeyartaward.ca

Information, resources, and registration details:


Information Desk