Home > Sobey Art Award > News > SOBEY ART AWARD GOES ANNUAL

Scotiabank joins as sponsor

Halifax, NS – October 11, 2006 – The $50,000 Sobey Art Award, presented biennially since 2002, will be awarded annually to a young Canadian artist.

“Moving the Sobey Art Award to an annual model as well as our partnership with Scotiabank and the Art Gallery of Nova Scotia ensures that the future of the Sobey Art Award is bright, indeed,” said Donald Sobey, chairman, Sobey Art Foundation. “Canadian artists under 40 are the future of the arts in this country, and we are proud to be supporting their efforts. The Sobey family and the Sobey Art Foundation are also proud to be able to share this future with Canadians.”

The Sobey Art Foundation is pleased to announce that Scotiabank has joined as sponsor in an ongoing partnership that will help to increase awareness of contemporary art and foster excellence in art across the country.

 “As the Presenting Sponsor of the 2006 Sobey Art Award we are entering an exciting new phase in what is already Canada’s premier award for young visual artists,” said Rick Waugh, president and chief executive officer, Scotiabank. “Our long-standing relationship with the Sobey family and our mutual commitment to promoting excellence in visual art in Canada makes this a particularly fulfilling partnership.”

The Sobey Art Award is given to an artist under 40 who has had a show in a public or commercial art gallery within 18 months of being nominated. A panel of curatorial advisors, one from a major gallery in each of five regions (Atlantic, Quebec, Ontario, Prairies/North and West Coast) decides the shortlist, and the winner. It is administered by the Art Gallery of Nova Scotia.


For more information or to arrange interviews, please contact:

Sobey Art Award Coordinator
c/o The Art Gallery of Nova Scotia


In 2002, the Sobey Art Foundation inaugurated the largest art award in Canadian history for a young Canadian artist. The Sobey Art Award is to be given to an artist under 40 who has had a show in a public or commercial art gallery in the past 18 months. The five curatorial panelists met as a group in Halifax and reduced the national long list of 25 artists to a short list of five. The curatorial advisors will choose the winner in November and the announcement will be made during a reception at The Montreal Museum of Fine Arts on November 7, 2006. The winner will receive a prize of $50,000.

Nominations were submitted for each of the five regions from recognized agents and institutions across the country. The curatorial advisors are charged with developing a regional list based on the nominated artists and their professional knowledge of their regions and of the national arts scene. The curatorial advisors represent major regional galleries and have broad knowledge of the arts regionally, nationally and internationally.


The panel of curatorial advisors includes for the West Coast:  Christina Ritchie, Contemporary Art Gallery, Vancouver; The Prairies and the North:  Patricia Deadman, Independent Curator, formerly of the Mackenzie Art Gallery, Regina; Ontario: Wayne Baerwaldt, Director/Curator of the Illingworth Kerr Gallery, Calgary, Curator of the emerging Moving Images Collection, Toronto International Film Festival and former Director of the Power Plant, Toronto; Quebec: Stéphane Aquin, Curator of Contemporary Art, The Montreal Museum of Fine Arts; and the Atlantic:  Shauna McCabe, Director of the Rooms Provincial Art Gallery, St. John’s.


Steven Shearer: Born 1968, New Westminster BC, lives in Vancouver.  BFA from the Emily Carr College of Art and Design and represented by Gallerie Eva Presenhuber, Zurich, Switzerland.

Annie Pootoogook: Born 1969, Cape Dorset, Baffin Island.  Encouraged by the West Baffin Eskimo Cooperative in Cape Dorset since 1997, represented by Feheley Fine Arts, Toronto.

Janice Kerbel: Born 1969, Don Mills, Ontario, lives in London, UK.  BFA from Emily Carr College of Art, MA in Fine Art with distinction from Goldsmiths College, University of London, represented by Galerie Karin Guenther, Hamburg.

BGL:  Artist Collective of Jasmin Bilodeau (1973), Sébastien Giguère (1972), and Nicolas Laverdière (1972).  All three have Bachelors of Visual Arts from Université Laval and live and work in Québec City.

Mathew Reichertz: Born 1969, Montreal, lives in Halifax.  BFA with distinction from Concordia University and MFA from Nova Scotia College of Art and Design.  National runner-up for the RBC painting prize in 2005.

Information, resources, and registration details:


Information Desk