Home > Sobey Art Award > News > Short list Announced for sobey Art Award 2006
Short list Announced for sobey Art Award 2006

Sobey Art Foundation Announces National Short list for 2006 Sobey Art Award

Five artists in running for $50,000 prize

Halifax, NS – March 9, 2006 - Five finalists for the $50,000 Sobey Art Award have been chosen by the national curatorial panel.  The five finalists were selected from a list of 25 Canadian artists.

The Sobey Art Foundation is pleased to announce the short list for the 2006 Sobey Art Award:

West Coast:  Steven Shearer

Prairies / North: Annie Pootoogook

Ontario: Janice Kerbel

Quebec:  BGL

Atlantic Canada: Mathew Reichertz

The Sobey Art Award is a biennial award to be given to an artist under 40 who has had a show in a public or commercial art gallery within 18 months of being nominated. A panel of curatorial advisors, one from a major gallery in each of five regions decides the shortlist: the Atlantic, Quebec, Ontario, Prairies and Western Canada, West Coast.

An exhibition at the Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal, featuring works by the five artists selected for the Sobey Art Award national short-list, will run from October 25th 2006 to January 7th 2007 and the winner will be announced in November 2006.



The panel of curatorial advisors includes for the West Coast:  Christina Ritchie, Contemporary Art Gallery, Vancouver; The Prairies and the North:  Patricia Deadman, former Curator of the Mackenzie Art Gallery, Regina; Ontario: Wayne Baerwaldt, former director of the Power Plant, Toronto; Quebec: Stéphane Aquin, Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal; and the Atlantic:  Shauna McCabe, Acting Director of the Rooms, St. John’s.


Steven Shearer: Born 1968, New Westminster BC, lives in Vancouver.  BFA from the Emily Carr College of Art and Design and represented by Gallerie Eva Presenhuber, Basel Switzerland.

Annie Pootoogook: Born 1969, Cape Dorset, Baffin Island.  Drawing encouraged by the West Baffin Eskimo Cooperative in Cape Dorset in 1997, represented by Feheley Fine Arts, Toronto.

Janice Kerbel: Born 1969, Don Mills, Ontario, lives in London, UK.  BFA from Emily Carr College of Art, MA in Fine Art with distinction from Goldsmiths College, University of London.

BGL:  Artist Collective of Jasmin Bilodeau (1973), Sébastien Giguère (1972), and Nicolas Laverdière (1972).  All three have Bachelors of Visual Arts from Université Laval and live and work in Québec City.

Mathew Reichertz: Born 1969, Montreal, lives in Halifax.  BFA with distinction from Concordia University and MFA from Nova Scotia College of Art and Design.  National runner-up for the RBC painting prize in 2005.

For more information or to arrange an interview with the short listed artists, Donald Sobey and/or members of curatorial advisory panel, please contact:

Eleanor King
Sobey Art Award Coordinator
c/o The Art Gallery of Nova Scotia
(902) 424 5169
(902) 981 8840

Information, resources, and registration details:


Information Desk