Home > Sobey Art Award > News > 2009 Sobey Art Award Shortlist Announced


2009 Sobey Art Award Shortlist Announced
Five artists in the running for $70,000
May 1, 2009 - HALIFAX, NS - The Curatorial Panel of the 2009 Sobey Art Award today announced the names of five exceptional Canadian artists selected for the 2009 Sobey Art Award Shortlist:

For the West Coast and Yukon: Luanne Martineau; for the Prairies and The North: Marcel Dzama; for Ontario: Shary Boyle; for Québec: David Altmejd; and for the Atlantic: Graeme Patterson.

"Faced with the benefit of a uniformly strong selection of candidates, the jury came to a unanimous consensus on this year's shortlist. Addressing both the local and the global, these artists make works that encapsulate materiality and conception, scale and complexity, representation and irrationality. Each artist shares a depth of commitment to their creation and exploration of idiosyncratic worlds that are real, imagined, and fantastical.” 2009 Curatorial Panel

Selected work from the shortlisted artists will be featured in an exhibition hosted by the Art Gallery of Nova Scotia and will run from September 5 to November 5 of 2009.

The winner of the 2009 Sobey Art Award will be announced during a gala event at the Art Gallery of Nova Scotia on October 15, 2009.

The 2009 Sobey Art Award Curatorial Panel comprises: Liz Wylie, Curator, Kelowna Art Gallery; Kitty Scott, Director, Visual Arts - The Banff Centre; Ivan Jurakic, Curator, Cambridge Galleries; Louise Déry, Director, Galerie de l'UQAM; Terry Graff, Curator & Deputy Director; Beaverbrook Art Gallery.