2011 Sobey Art Award Exhibition opens Sept 17th



For immediate release

August 30, 2011 - Halifax, NS – Five of Canada’s leading contemporary artists have been shortlisted for the 2011 Sobey Art Award. The Award’s exhibition, featuring a selection of their work opens on September 17, 2011 at the Art Gallery of Nova Scotia.

This year’s shortlisted artists are:

•    Charles Stankievech - West Coast and Yukon;
•    Sarah Anne Johnson - Prairies and the North;
•    Daniel Young and Christian Giroux - Ontario;
•    Manon De Pauw – Québec;
•    Zeke Moores – Atlantic.

The 2011 exhibition includes video installation, photography and sculpture. The Sobey Art Award is Canada’s pre-eminent award for contemporary Canadian art and its annual exhibition has become the must see overview of the most important developments in contemporary Canadian art. The winning artist will be announced on October 13, 2011.

Established in 2002, the Sobey Art Award celebrates new advances in contemporary art with the intention of inspiring public interest and shining a spotlight on the best of this country’s young artists. A total of $70,000 is awarded each year to Canadian artists age 40 or under. The prize fund of $50,000 is awarded to the winner with $5,000 being awarded to each of the other shortlisted artists. Previous winners include: Daniel Barrow, David Altmejd, Tim Lee, Michel de Broin, Annie Pootoogook, Jean-Pierre Gauthier and Brian Jungen.

 “The Sobey Art Foundation is pleased to be able to play a part in nurturing cultural excellence in Canada,” says Donald R Sobey, Chair of the Sobey Art Foundation. “We are proud to celebrate these outstanding artists whose work stimulates interest in contemporary art, not just in this country, but around the world”.

Sarah Fillmore, Curator of the Sobey Art Award 2011, adds that organizers are excited about this year’s final five, and about the exhibit. “This exhibition is a great opportunity for visitors to see this year’s nominated artists and discover what is new in Canadian contemporary art,” says Fillmore. “An exhibition of this calibre and variety will likely also serve to engage, provoke and deepen a debate about contemporary art with Canadians,” she says.

Each year the Sobey Art Award is judged by an independent curatorial panel. The panel for the 2011 Sobey Art Award is:

•    Bruce Johnson, Curator of The Rooms Provincial Art Gallery, NL;
•    Gaëtane Verna, Director and Chief Curator, Musée d’art de Joliette, QC;
•    Marnie Fleming, Curator of Contemporary Art, Oakville Art Galleries, ON;
•    Ryan Doherty, Curator, Southern Alberta Art Gallery, AB;  
•    Mary Bradshaw, Gallery Director, Yukon Arts Centre, YT.

The Sobey Art Award is managed and administered by the Art Gallery of Nova Scotia on behalf of the Sobey Art Foundation and is sponsored by the Foundation, Bravo and Total Transportation Solutions Inc. A fully-illustrated catalogue will accompany the exhibition.


About the Art Gallery of Nova Scotia

The Art Gallery of Nova Scotia is the largest art museum in Atlantic Canada. With locations in downtown Halifax and downtown Yarmouth, the Gallery houses the Province’s art collection and offers a range of exhibitions and programming. For information: www.artgalleryofnovascotia.ca

Learn More
Images regarding 2011 Sobey Art Award
Follow Sobey Art Award on Twitter
Like Sobey Art Award on Facebook

For information please contact:

Bernard Doucet | Director of Development | Art Gallery of Nova Scotia
Office 902.424.0073 | Cell 902.223.7246 | doucetbj@gov.ns.ca
Donna Wellard | Marketing & Communications | Art Gallery of Nova Scotia

Office 902.424.2903 | Cell 902.483.2019 | wellardc@gov.ns.ca

© 2014 Art Gallery of Nova Scotia    Privacy Policy