2008 Sobey Art award, presented by scotiabank announces LONG-LIST


The $50,000 Sobey Art Award, presented by Scotiabank, is given annually to a Canadian artist under 40 who has exhibited in a public or commercial art gallery within 18 months of being nominated. Organizers are pleased to announce the longlist of 25 artists selected by the curatorial panel for the 2008 Sobey Art Award.

WEST COAST AND YUKON: Althea Thauberger; Tim Lee; Scott McFarland; Mark Soo; Kevin Schmidt.
PRAIRIES AND THE NORTH: Daniel Barrow; Paul Butler; Theo Sims; KC Adams; Terrance Houle.
ONTARIO: Kristan Horton; Luis Jacob; Terence Koh; H. Lan Thao Lam; Kelly Richardson.
QUÉBEC: Mathieu Beauséjour; BGL; Raphaëlle de Groot; Adad Hannah; Carlos and Jason Sanchez.
ATLANTIC: Andrea Mortson; Tonia Di Risio; Craig Francis Power; Mario Doucette; Craig Leonard.

The Shortlist for the 2008 Sobey Art Award will be announced on May 20, 2008. Selected work from the shortlisted artists will be featured in an exhibition hosted by the Institute for Contemporary Culture at the Royal Ontario Museum and will run from August 30 to October 13 of 2008.

The winner of the 2008 Sobey Art Award will be announced during a gala event at the Royal Ontario Museum on October 1, 2008.

The 2008 Sobey Art Award Curatorial Panel comprises: Scott Watson, Director/Curator, Morris and Helen Belkin Art Gallery, UBC; Anthony Kiendl, Director, Plug-In ICA; David Moos, Curator of Contemporary Art, Art Gallery of Ontario; Nathalie de Blois, Conservatrice de l’art actuel, Musée National des beaux-arts du Québec; Gemey Kelly, Director/Curator of the Owens Art Gallery.


For more information please contact:
Svava Juliusson, Coordinator, Sobey Art Award

Sobey Art Award
C/O Art Gallery of Nova Scotia
1723 Hollis St., Box 2262
Halifax NS B3J 3C8
902 424 7359 fax

Information, resources, and registration details:


Information Desk 


© 2014 Art Gallery of Nova Scotia    Privacy Policy